On 21 March 2013 Prime Minister Gillard and Deputy Prime Minister Swan won the Labor Party leadership ballot “unopposed and unanimously.” Simon Crean was sacked from all ministerial responsibilities and Rudd supporters, Ministers Kim Carr, Martin Ferguson and Chris Bowen, and parliamentary whips, Joel Fitzgibbon, Ed Husic, Janelle Saffin and parliamentary secretary Richard Marles resigned their positions.