The last part of the game approaches rapidly. The campaign for control of the 44th Parliament begins and the public trust that Opposition Leader Abbott gained with difficulty he now holds with ease. On 7 September 2013 the nation votes and a leader sure of his strength and assured of his opponent’s disunity is elected Australia’s 28th Prime Minister. When Tony Abbott declares victory a Labor dream fades. But fortune is capricious and opportunity is given to some unlikely candidates, thus starting a new and potentially volatile political game.

Up your bum

Jon Kudelka, The Australian,

Sex appeal

Mark Knight, Herald Sun,

Point of difference

Matt Golding, The Sunday Age,

Admit one

Glen Le Lievre, The Sun-Herald,

Rupert's how to vote card

Ron Tandberg, The Sydney Morning Herald,

It's time to let one of them go

David Pope, The Canberra Times,

Raising the winner's cup

David Rowe, The Australian Financial Review,

Budgie smuggler flag

Sean Leahy, The Courier-Mail,

Take me to your leader

Alan Moir, The Sydney Morning Herald,

Turning a new page

Matt Bissett-Johnson, On Line Opinion,